Carol Boyd Leon

Shir HaLev: the Community Jewish Chorale of Northern Virginia

Shir HaLev is a friendly, welcoming, adult volunteer community choir in the heart of Fairfax, VA.

The Chorale rehearses about twice a month and performs at community events. Carol founded the group in 2001 and has been its musical director ever since then.

Rehearsals are generally held at Congregation Olam Tikvah, 3800 Glenbrook Rd, Fairfax, VA on selected Tuesday evenings from 7:30 pm to 9 pm, with a break at 8 pm during minyan. Membership in the Chorale is open to all who can sing tunefully. No experience necessary and no synagogue affiliation is required. Ability to read music is helpful but not required. 

Listen to Shir HaLev singing Tzadik Katamar:

Shir HaLev singing Tzadik Katamar

The focus is on contemporary liturgical music but the group also sings Israeli songs, holiday songs, “traditional” tunes, and occasionally performs Broadway hits at assisted living facilities.

Some choirs disband in the summer. Shir HaLev, however, has too much fun to take the entire summer off so the group continues to meet on a sporadic schedule throughout the summer in preparation for singing at a Greenspring Village Friday evening service in September. We also look for worthwhile community and interfaith events to perform at.

For more information about joining the Shir HaLev at any time, come to a Tuesday evening rehearsal beginning at 7:30 p.m.or, better yet, let Carol know of your interest in advance so she can be ready to greet you!

SCHEDULE THROUGH END OF 2019

Rehearsals are Tuesdays, 7:30-9:00 p.m. at Olam Tikvah on each date shown unless otherwise indicated

  • Thu, Sep 5 - special rehearsal and social hour at Carol's home in Fairfax
  • Tue, Sep 10 - rehearsal
  • Fri, Sep 13 - Greenspring service (arrive 7pm for 7:15 start)
  • Tue, Oct 15 - rehearsal
  • Tue, Oct 22 - rehearsal
  • Tue, Oct 29 - rehearsal
  • Tue, Nov 5 - rehearsal
  • Tue, Nov 12 - rehearsal
  • Sun, Nov 17 - Songs of Thanks concert in Greenspring chapel (arrive 3:45pm for 4pm start)
  • Tue, Dec 3 - rehearsal
  • Tue, Dec 10 - rehearsal
  • Fri, Dec 13 - Greenspring service (arrive 7pm for 7:15 start)
  • Tue, Dec 17 - Hanukkah dinner at Carol's home, 7pm start
  • Sun, Dec 29 - JCC menorah lighting at Mosaic District, late afternoon (time TBA)
We will not meet at all in January 2020. Rehearsals will resume in February.